ESWC

The ESWC is a pioneering and leading event in international eSports. During the ESWC, tournaments bring together the best players in the world and their fans. They are organized and produced as fun shows.

Today, ESWC runs 3 to 5 times a year and is managed by Webedia, with qualifiers organized on 5 continents.

For 14 years, ESWC has been contributing to the development of e-sport while aiming at universality, sportsmanship and the production of innovative and fun content.

The ESWC was created in 2003 by Matthieu Dallon, CEO of Ligarena SA and then Games-Services until 2009. The first two events were organized at Futuroscope in France. The unique and innovative staging of live games, played live on stage with live broadcasts in multiple languages, quickly made the ESWC a pioneering event and a leader in eSport communities. Since then, ESWC finals have included, among others, Paris Bercy (in 2006 and 2008) and San José, in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley (in 2008).

However, 2009 was marked by the development of ESWC due to the global economic crisis and the fragility of eSport business models, which were almost entirely based on private sponsorship. In 2010, the ESWC was taken over by Jean-Marie Coutant, with a revival at Disneyland Paris, and then won its audience during the Week of the Games of Paris (the 4th video games trade show in the world); First in 2011, co-produced by Oxent (co-founded and directed by Matthieu Dallon and Antoine Frankart), and from 2012 onwards by Oxent alone, following the acquisition of all rights to the event.

In 2015, the ESWC decided to have several international finals in addition to the historic event of the Paris Games Week and organized two events dedicated respectively to Call of Duty, Zenith in Paris and CS: GO, to Montreal, Canada.

While for 13 years the ESWC was conceived and developed as the Electronic Sports World Cup in 2016, a brand new positioning was announced with an expansion that encompasses all the worlds and eSports contents, more in line with the current market developments and the nature of its events: ESWC becomes the “eSports World Convention”.

ESWC

L’ESWC est un événement pionnier et leader en eSports internationaux. Au cours de l’ESWC, les tournois de jeux, qui regroupent les meilleurs joueurs du monde et leurs fans, sont organisés et produits comme spectacles amusants.

Aujourd’hui, l’ESWC se déroule de 3 à 5 fois par an et est gérée par la société Webedia, avec des sélections de champions organisées sur les 5 continents.

Depuis 14 ans, l’ESWC contribue au développement du sport électronique tout en visant l’universalité, l’esprit sportif et la production de contenu innovant et amusant.

L’ESWC a été créée en 2003 par Matthieu Dallon, CEO de la société Ligarena SA et ensuite Games-Services jusqu’en 2009. Les deux premiers événements ont été organisés au Futuroscope en France. La mise en scène unique et innovante des matches de jeu, joués sur scène devant un public en direct, avec des émissions commentées en direct dans plusieurs langues, ont rapidement fait de l’ESWC un événement pionnier et un leader dans les communautés eSport. Depuis lors, les finales de l’ESWC ont eu lieu, entre autres, Paris Bercy (en 2006 et 2008) et San José, au cœur de la Silicon Valley de Californie (en 2008).

L’année 2009 s’est néanmoins marquée par le développement de l’ESWC en raison de la crise économique mondiale et de la fragilité des modèles économiques eSport, qui étaient presque entièrement basés sur le parrainage privé. En 2010, l’ESWC a été reprise par Jean-Marie Coutant, avec une relance à Disneyland Paris, puis a remporté son public lors de la Semaine des Jeux de Paris (le 4ème salon professionnel des jeux vidéo au monde); Premier en 2011, co-produit par Oxent (cofondé et dirigé par Matthieu Dallon et Antoine Frankart), puis à partir de 2012 par Oxent seul, suite à l’acquisition de tous les droits sur l’événement.

En 2015, l’ESWC a décidé d’avoir plusieurs finales internationales en plus de l’événement historique de la Semaine des Jeux de Paris et a organisé 2 événements consacrés respectivement à Call of Duty, au Zénith à Paris et CS: GO, à Montréal, au Canada .

Alors que pendant 13 ans, l’ESWC a été conçue et s’est développée en tant que Coupe du monde de sports électroniques, en 2016 un nouveau positionnement de marque a été annoncé avec une expansion qui englobe tous les mondes et les contenus eSports, plus en ligne avec les développements actuels du marché et la nature de ses événements: ESWC devient la « Convention mondiale de l’eSports ».